Magic Tree House Boxed Set, Books 1-4: Dinosaurs Before Dark, The Knight at Dawn, Mummies in the Morning, and Pirates Past Noon

Get ready for a world of adventure with the first four titles in the beloved Magic Tree House series!

Jack and his little sister Annie are just two regular kids from Frog Creek, Pennsylvania. Then they discover a mysterious tree house packed with all sorts of books…and their lives are never the same! Soon they are traveling through time and space in the magic tree house and having amazing adventures. Whether it’s watching baby dinosaurs hatch, finding a secret passage in a castle, helping a ghost queen in an Egyptian pyramid, or finding pirate treasure, readers won’t want to miss a single story!


  • Age Range: 8 - 9 years
  • Grade Level: 1 - 4
  • Series: Magic Tree House
  • Paperback: 80 pages
  • Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers; Slp edition (May 29, 2001)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0375813659
  • ISBN-13: 978-0375813658
  • Product Dimensions: 5.2 x 1 x 7.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 4.8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars See all reviews (952 customer reviews)
Download Now

This article was written by Admin

5 thoughts on “Magic Tree House Boxed Set, Books 1-4: Dinosaurs Before Dark, The Knight at Dawn, Mummies in the Morning, and Pirates Past Noon”

  1. When My son was younger these were among his most favorite books. He made sure we saved these so he could pass them on to his little brother to read to him once he is old enough. These are simple chapter books. They range in page count from about 68 to 96 pages I believe so they are relatively quick reads that can be read in a few nights depending upon your child’s reading level. This set contains the first four books in the series:





    The First, Dinosaurs Before Dawn tells the story of how jack and Annie (the series stars) first find the Magic Tree House and learn how the books can transport them to magical lands and worlds. The first takes them to the Cretaceous period. Through clues and reading the book in hand they learn and discover things about dinosaurs.

    In the “Knight at Dawn”, jack and Annie are transported back to medieval times. They find a castle and go exploring and find themselves on the run from the castle guards and worry they will never get back to the magic tree house.

    “mummies In the Morning” Jack has always been fascinated by and pick up a book that has them traveling back to ancient Egypt. Jack and Annie enter a pyramid and get lost inside. Inside they find the ghost of an Egyptian queen whose been trapped inside the pyramid for ages and Jack and Annie try to set her free.

    “Pirates Past Noon” Jack and Annie picture a wonderful beach and are transported to the times of Pirates where they are capture by Captain Bones who is seeking the treasure of Captain Kidd.

    These books are geared for kids from the 2nd to the 5th grade I would say.Read more ›

  2. This is the first series of chapter books my son actually wanted to read by himself. While many of the reviewers complain about grammatical errors, etc., I feel these can be overlooked as these delightful stories keep a child’s interest from start to finish. Each chapter is fairly short and has frequent pictures (a must for beginning chapter readers). The main characters have all sorts of adventures and the reader actually learns some historical facts. While the books are probably too easy for advanced readers, they should appeal to most beginning chapter readers. I think it is very important that children think reading is fun and the books from The Magic Tree House Series provide a wonderful introduction to chapter book reading!

  3. I am Hunter and I am seven years old. My dad teaches me at home and I have to read lots of books. The Magic Treehouse books are my favorite books. I really liked the part where Jack crawled out of the secret tunnel and fell into the moat! I think other children will like these books too. My dad also has some of these on tapes and we listen to them in the car.
    Hunter’s dad: Although there are some grammatical lapses in these stories, I’ve found the subject matter and the ‘fun’ adventures offset the grammar for my son. I am still teaching him about the enjoyment of reading and giving him practice and he enjoys these. I don’t think of these as “bubble gum for the brain” and I find the subject material provides a lot of teaching opportunities. For children just starting to read chapter books, I think these are a good choice. I also have The Boxcar Children set, but they are roughly three times as long and will be for my son’s next stage of reading.

  4. Ok, I’ll say up front that these are great stories for kids to read. I’ve been reading them to my 4 year old for some time, and the pace, characters, and action are all perfectly suited. Each of these books grabs his interest and makes him excited about reading more.

    The problem I’ve got with the series is the author’s skillset with the language. Some folks may want to overlook this based on the content alone; I feel this view is simple and potentially detrimental to the child. For lots of kids these are first readers, and help develop a child’s view of language structure. They’re going to start off mimicking the writing ‘style’ the see; in the case of these books, they’ll be seeing a lot of poorly defined (or non-defined) paragraphs, sentence fragments, and grammatical errors. They’ll be seeing poorly written examples that will help establish the basis of bad writing habits which may take a lot of work to erase. Whoever edited these books needs a new career.

    That said, we skip around the series quite a bit. The latest books are comparatively excellent as far as language mechanics. There’s a definite progression in writing *quality* throughout the series, and content is high for all. I just wish Pope-Osborne had taken a creative writing class or two in the beginning.

    If you’re reading these books to/with your child, you can do some on-the-fly editing. If your child has enough language skill to spot the mistakes, they’ll be fine. Otherwise, you might want to proceed with a little caution, or skip ahead in the series.

  5. I have mixed feelings about this series. My children (boys 5 & 3) love the books. They are easy enough for the younger one to follow, but exciting enough that the older one isn’t bored. My biggest problem with them is the grammar. I would never let my children read these books themselves because I would never want them to think that the writing is correct. Luckily, by reading them aloud I can correct the mistakes without them even realizing it. Seriously though, the grammar is so poor that had not all the books been that way I would have assumed it was just something wrong with the printing machine. The author literally does not know what constitutes a sentence and she has no concept of the comma. Here are just a few examples (all found a single page no less!!):
    1. “Let’s leave the scroll on floor. And go,” he said.

    2. They walked together. Across the room. To the glowing gold box.

    3. They stopped in front of the box. And they peered inside.

    In all those cases she created fragment sentences instead of one regular sentence. She does this all the time. I think it was either in the first book or the second that I couldn’t find a single page that didn’t have a grammatical error. Both the author and the publisher should be ashamed of themselves.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *