Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island Trilogy)

In the conclusion to her acclaimed Three Sisters Island trilogy, #1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts masterfully evokes the quaint charm of New England, weaving a spellbinding tale of true love—and sheer magic…

Mia Devlin knows what it’s like to love with your whole heart—and then watch your love walk away. Years ago, she and Sam Logan shared an incredible bond built on passion, legend, and fate. But then one day he fled Three Sisters Island, leaving her lost in memories of the magic they shared—and determined to live on her own…

As the new owner of the island’s only hotel, Sam has returned to Three Sisters with hopes of winning back Mia’s affections. He is puzzled when she greets him with icy indifference—for the chemistry between them is still sizzling and true. Angry, hurt, and deeply confused, Mia refuses to admit that a desire for Sam still burns in her heart. But she’ll need his help—and his powers—to face her greatest, most terrifying challenge. And as the deadline for breaking a centuries-old curse draws near, they must take the first step toward destiny—and come together to turn back the dark…

Don’t miss the other books in the Three Sisters Island trilogy
Dance Upon the Air
Heaven and Earth


  • Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Jove; English Language edition (May 28, 2002)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 051513287X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0515132878
  • Product Dimensions: 4.2 x 1 x 6.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 9.1 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars See all reviews (626 customer reviews)
Download Now

This article was written by Admin

4 thoughts on “Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island Trilogy)”

  1. Mia Devlin is a strong beautiful witch that owns a bookstore/café on Three Sisters. She keeps buried a deep hurt from her childhood when the love of her life, Sam Logan, left her broken just out of high school.

    Sam is back, and he is determined to win Mia back. He knows what a mistake he made leaving. He was so young, and the powerful emotions she brought out in him scared him, so he ran. Sam is also a witch, and he is willing to use whatever it takes to gain Mia’s trust.

    Mia and Sam must find their way back to each other, or they will not have the strength for the upcoming fight of their lives.

    A great finish to the series. I liked that Mia was fire and Sam was water – fire & ice!

  2. “Face the Fire” by Nora Roberts is the final instalment in the enchanting Three Sisters Island trilogy, which has captivated me from book one. Staying true to its predecessors, this final book does not disappoint. Full of vivid and insightful characterizations, steamy romance, and just the right dose of fantasy, “Face the Fire” will leave you believing in magic.
    Mia Devlin is a strong, determined, and savvy businesswoman and an immensely powerful witch. She has great friends, especially Nell and Ripley, her sisters of the heart and fellow witches, a beautiful home and garden, and a wonderful bookstore that does great business, but Mia isn’t truly happy. Ever since Sam Logan walked out of her life eleven years ago, leaving her young heart in pieces on the ground, she has closed off a part of herself that she never plans to open again.
    Everything is going fine with her plan to keep her heart blocked off from ever being broken again, until the day that Sam Logan strolls into her bookstore and back into her life. But Mia greets Sam, who has returned to Three Sisters to reclaim her, with painfully polite icy indifference. For though the energy still snaps and sparks in the air between them, Mia knows she just won’t survive having her heart torn out a second time.
    But Sam is here to stay, and he won’t give Mia up without a fight. The interplay between Mia and Sam is expertly rendered by Roberts, as we watch Mia’s range of reactions to Sam’s persistence. When they are together, Mia and Sam all but send sparks from the pages, sometimes in passion and sometimes in pure frustration and anger.
    But no matter what Mia decides is in her heart, she had better do it fast, because the deadline for breaking a centuries old curse is mere months away.Read more ›

  3. The third of 3 books deals with Mia Devlin, super sexy (yet strangely virginal) witch extraordinaire and her long lost love Sam. He left ten years ago ostensibly because he was afraid of all the tales that they were fated to be together, so he wanted to screw about 50% of New York before coming back to her.

    Mia is understandably cold to him but quickly loses all the spunk she’s build up in the last two books and succumbs to this man who is little more than a dark and moody slut. She crumbles like a very dumb and weak woman, the kind you saw in romance novels of the 1970’s and 1980’s, and from the way Roberts wrote the dialogue I expected some bodice ripping any time, which never came.

    Nora Roberts couldn’t even think of a new enemy so she brings us the insane imprisoned ex-husband of the heroine from book one (Dance Upon the Air), and now he has magical powers that tap into the dark side of the island!

    Sadly, the side tale of the Three Sisters of centuries ago that the island is named for is more interesting than this love story. At least the old legend is emotionally taut and satisfyingly wrapped up.

    Sam is a cardboard hero; tall, dark, arrogant and pushy with little human emotions in him. Mia was a fiery sexy heroine, but she is reduced to virginal and naïve status, except when she is flirting with the hero of book two (Heaven and Earth) who is married to her best friend. That really creeped me out.

    Still, if the first two hooked you, you’ll want to read this story. If you haven’t started the “Three Sisters” novels, try her “Tears of the Moon” “Jewels of the Sun” etc. stories for a much better plot about 3 people bound to fall in love with new lovers and old friends to break an ancient curse.

  4. “Face The Fire” is the final book in Nora Roberts’ Three Sisters Trilogy, and unfortunately provides a whimper of a finale instead of the expected bang. Her first book, “Dance Upon The Air” is excellent. The second, “Heaven And Earth” is slightly weaker, but well worth reading. This novel, which should have been her strongest, as Mia, her protagonist is the most powerful and interesting of the sister witches, falls into cliche and repetition. It is just plain boring and a big disappointment.
    Three Sisters is a small, rocky island off the coast of Massachusetts. Legend has it that the island was once a part of the mainland. Back in the late 1600s, during the Salem witch trials, three sisters, good witches all, known as Fire, Earth and Air, conjured the island and made it a haven against persecution. Unfortunately, the sisters did not fare as well as their island. All three were doomed by unfortunate relationships and a misuse of power. Before the last sister died she cast a spell to keep the island safe for 300 years. At that time she prophesied a reunion of three sisters, descendants of the original three, who would join together to redeem their ancestors, right the wrongs of the past and save their home from destruction.
    Mia Devlin, owner of the successful bookstore-cafe on Three Sisters Island, is a strong sorceress, of the white witch variety. She lost the love of her life, Sam Logan, when he left her without warning or explanation ten years before. Mia has closed herself off from intimacy to avoid the fate that destroyed her ancestress 300 years earlier. Sam returns to the island looking to renew his relationship with Mia and runs into a brick wall. Although the chemistry between the two sizzles, Mia is determined not to let Sam back into her heart.Read more ›

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *